Ok, really, this isn’t a topic that I want to discuss with my kids. I really would prefer that they learn this in Biology class at school and then we’d never have to discuss it at home. I know, every friend that I have has said “I can’t believe you haven’t had this discussion with your kids – don’t you want to control what they and how they hear about it – they need to be informed, blah, blah, blah”

The truth is – no- I don’t want to discuss it with them.

Here is the latest discussion on this topic in our car, which happens a little too regularly:

– C (age 5): Mom, how do babies get out of your tummy?
– J (age 9): C, trust me, you don’t even want to know….
– M (age 7): I think they come out of your butt …. no wait, I’ve seen C’s butt and there is no way that a baby is fitting through there
– J (age 9): M, you’d be amazed at how big girls’ butts get when they get older
– Ted (my husband, to no one in particular): No kidding….
– Me (ageless): Thanks, Ted…